Interesting Way to Peel a Kiwi?

I love fruits! I love any kind, but Kiwifruit (also called Kiwi in short) is always for me hit or miss. Sometimes I love it, sometime I rather have something else. I prefer golden kiwi which is sweeter, but regular green ones are good too to put it in a smoothie.

“Kiwifruit,” originally known as the Chinese Gooseberry are oval and about the size of a large hen’s egg. Kiwi is a rich source of vitamin C, 1.5 times the DRI scale in the US. Its potassium content by weight is slightly less than that of a banana. It also contains vitamins A and E. The skin is a good source of flavonoid antioxidants. The kiwi seed oil contains on average 62% alpha-linolenic acid, an omega-3 fatty acid. Usually a medium size kiwi contains about 46 kilocalories, 0.3 gram fats, 1 gm proteins, 11 gm carbohydrates, 75 mg vitamis and 2.6 grams dietary fiber. Kiwi is often reported to have mild laxative effects, possibly because of the hight level of dietary fiber. (refer to Wikipedia “kiwifruit” & letusallcook’s blogspot)

I personally think it’s not hard to peel a kiwi, but still sometimes I rather not work with the hairy (?) skin (you know what I mean). I don’t know if this is a particularly good way to peel the fruit, but it’s certainly interesting to try!

http://www.foodbuzz.com/videos/220725-the-easiest-way-to-peel-a-kiwi-fruit

1 Comment

  1. August 24, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    I’m always into discussions on anything organic, so this read made me feel at home.
    I’ll bookmark the site and subscribe to the feed!


Leave a Reply

